Fayerweather Island Lighthouse (Connecticut) 200th Anniversary being celebrated with special USLHS Zoom event on September 9 at 4 p.m. EST

Fayerweather Island Lighthouse

Connecticut’s Black Rock Harbor, now part of the city of Bridgeport, is a deep, protected harbor that developed as a trade port and shipbuilding center in the 1700s. Black Rock Harbor is sheltered by Fayerweather Island, which made the island an ideal place for a lighthouse to mark the harbor entrance. The first lighthouse on the island, built in 1808, was destroyed in a hurricane in 1821. A new stone tower, 47 feet high, was built in 1823. The most remarkable personality in the long history of Fayerweather Island Light was Kate Moore, a longtime keeper in the 1800s.

Kate Moore, keeper of Fayerweather Island Lighthouse.

This live Zoom presentation will be moderated by U.S. Lighthouse Society historian Jeremy D’Entremont. Local historian and author Bruce Williams and Phil Blagys, Chair of the Black Rock Community Council History Program, will lead viewers through the fascinating history of Fayerweather Lighthouse from its beginnings in 1808 to the present day.

This program will also feature a video presentation from Anna Crowley Redding who will present her book, Courage Like Kate, which tells the story of Kate Moore, the heroine of Fayerweather Lighthouse.

Click here for more about the lighthouse bicentennial and other special events.

This Zoom event will take place at 4:00 p.m. EST and is free to all. Participants are required to register in order to be able to join. Click here to register.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.